Customer Reviews for Rational DOORS

Rational DOORS

IBM® Rational® DOORS® is requirements management software optimized for the needs of complex and embedded systems development.
Average customer rating:
3.983 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(60 reviews) 60
Open ratings snapshot
Rating snapshot
5 stars
19
4 stars
29
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
3
55 out of 60(92%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Rational DOORS
Review 1 for Rational DOORS
Overall rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for price: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Scalability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LIndaC

Using DOORS for complex project

Date:April 3, 2014
I'm pleased/satisfied with DOORS on my current project. Does the job and does it well.
Pros: Manage project complexity, Aligns project deliverables to requirements and business goals
Review 2 for Rational DOORS
Overall rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for price: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scalability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
rich
Location:Cleveland, Ohio
Company size:10,001 or more
Role:IT Manager

Great Tool

Date:June 4, 2013
Excellent product meets our company needs. Would like to see a multisite capability out of it.
Pros: Facilitates requirements reuse
Review 3 for Rational DOORS
Overall rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for price: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Scalability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tyler

Date:June 3, 2013
DOORS is a very helpful and powerful tool for requirements management. Excellent product.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rational DOORS
Overall rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for price: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scalability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bello
Location:Recife
Company size:0-50
Role:Business Partner

Excellent

Date:June 2, 2013
This is a really good product. I really enjoy work wit it. It improves my team capacity and requirements are done professionally now.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rational DOORS
Overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for price: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Scalability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DOORSadmin
Company size:51-100
Role:Business Partner

Absolutely required for big projects

Date:April 30, 2013
After 3 years on a single project, I found that DOORS had helped me accurately manage nearly 1/2 million changes, which is about 68 per hour! Try that, spreadsheet. Required deliverable documentation is a snap with Rational Publishing Engine.
Pros: Manage project complexity, Address compliance with regulations and standards, Improves project team productivity
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rational DOORS
Overall rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for price: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scalability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tahram
Location:Orlando Florida
Company size:10,001 or more
Role:Business Partner

great tool

Date:June 6, 2012
i have used IBM tools and doors among others, great product and easy to use, i highly recommend for all systems engineers
Pros: Manage project complexity, Reduces rework, Aligns project deliverables to requirements and business goals, Facilitates requirements reuse, Improves project team productivity, Enhance collaboration across engineering discipline with all stakeholders
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rational DOORS
Overall rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for price: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Scalability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DiStasio
Location:Somers, NY
Company size:10,001 or more
Role:Other

Excellent product

Date:June 6, 2012
Excellent product and functional tool, highly recommended.
Pros: Reduces rework
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rational DOORS
Overall rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for price: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Scalability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DOORS IT PM

Architecture Needs Modernization

Date:June 6, 2012
Most of our concerns with DOORS revolve around its ancient architecture. We are not able to load balance, fail over, scale DWA to large environments, backup without taking long outages.
I do like the openess of the DOORS development. Great interactions, great feedback, and responsiveness. Looking forward to DOORS Next! :)
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rational DOORS
Overall rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for price: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Scalability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ashwini
Location:Waukesha, WI
Company size:10,001 or more
Role:Developer

DOORS Review

Date:June 6, 2012
It is good product with so many capability but performance is poor.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rational DOORS
Overall rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for price: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Scalability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
pm007ca
Company size:10,001 or more
Role:Project Manager

DOORS should get better

Date:June 6, 2012
We have used DOORS for 2 years now and it is a very useful tool but not very user friendly tool. Simple drag and drops or hover over features do not exist. Need to make it easier to use.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rational DOORS
Overall rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for price: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Scalability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amit
Location:Detroit, MI
Company size:5,001-10,000
Role:IT Manager

DOORS

Date:June 6, 2012
DOORS is very useful for Systems Engineering when configured properly. At AAM we have used the tool in a way that does not follow best practices and are in the process of changing this. We have lots of complaints from the end users on performance. With the new version of DOORS and DOORS Next we believe that we can architect our structure to follow these best practices and have the success we know can be obtained.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Rational DOORS
Overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for price: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Scalability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DerekW
Location:michigan
Company size:501-1,000
Role:Project Manager

great tool for requirements

Date:June 6, 2012
Doors 9.4 has greatly enhanced my daily tasks. the ability to quickly share and change requirements is very important.
Pros: Manage project complexity, Reduces rework, Provides faster and easier stakeholder consensus, Facilitates requirements reuse
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rational DOORS
Overall rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for price: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Scalability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brian
Location:Orlando, FL
Company size:5,001-10,000
Role:Other

DOORS and Defense

Date:June 5, 2012
DOORS is the center piece of our requirements management process. It has allowed us to coordinate and manage requirements, As we grow we find through DXL and Process the tool can do so much more than we ever imagined, The interfaces to other rational products allows tight integration and the user community also really helps make the daily use even better
Pros: Manage project complexity, Address compliance with regulations and standards, Aligns project deliverables to requirements and business goals, Provides faster and easier stakeholder consensus, Facilitates requirements reuse, Improves project team productivity, Enhance collaboration across engineering discipline with all stakeholders
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Rational Rhapsody Developer
4.6 out of 5(9)
 
 
 
Rational System Architect
3.9 out of 5(15)
 
 
 
 
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Rational DOORS
Overall rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for price: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scalability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Inquieto

Great for requirements and design plus traceabilit

Date:June 5, 2012
DOORS is great for creating and maintaining your requirements, linking them to design and tests and showing traceability all around.
Pros: Address compliance with regulations and standards, Facilitates requirements reuse, Improves project team productivity
Review 15 for Rational DOORS
Overall rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for price: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Scalability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
smarti.sj
Location:Boston MA
Company size:10,001 or more
Role:Architect

DOORS Review

Date:June 5, 2012
DOORS is a powerful requirements management tool which also provides trace capability. DOORS provides access controls, reporting capabilities as well as a scripting language for your own customizations
Pros: Manage project complexity, Reduces rework, Facilitates requirements reuse, Improves project team productivity
Review 16 for Rational DOORS
Overall rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for price: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Scalability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jesse

Great requirements tool

Date:June 5, 2012
DOORS is full featured requirements tool that meets our company's needs.
Pros: Address compliance with regulations and standards, Reduces rework, Improves project team productivity, Enhance collaboration across engineering discipline with all stakeholders
Review 17 for Rational DOORS
Overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for price: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scalability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nols
Location:OKC, OK
Company size:1,001-5,000
Role:Analyst

DOORS in the FAA

Date:June 5, 2012
I have used DOORS since 1997 (version 3.0) with the NEXRAD and more recently with the Wide Area Augmentation System and I can say that the tool has come a long way. Some users are resistant to using the tool because of the high learning curve but when they see the usefulness of links and capture of history, they become believers as well. I can't imagine using any other tool to manage requirements. Metric tracking is so easy with DOORS.
Pros: Address compliance with regulations and standards, Reduces rework, Aligns project deliverables to requirements and business goals, Facilitates requirements reuse, Improves project team productivity
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Rational ClearQuest
3.7 out of 5(46)
 
 
 
Rational ClearCase MultiSite
4.1 out of 5(9)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 18 for Rational DOORS
Overall rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for price: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Scalability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Chris
Location:Virginia
Company size:0-50
Role:Project Manager

Leader in Requirements

Date:June 5, 2012
I have been a user of DOORS for 14 years, the progress made with the DOORS tool over that time and specifically since IBM has taken charge has been wonderful. Integration with other life cycle tools as part of the Rational suite are very encouraging. The ability to use Rationale Publishing Engine (RPE) to publish document from DOORS have been very valuable to my company and our customers
Pros: Manage project complexity, Reduces rework
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Rational Publishing Engine
4 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 19 for Rational DOORS
Overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for price: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Scalability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kermit

DOORS is Cool

Date:June 5, 2012
DOORS is still the best requirements management tool out there today.
Pros: Reduces rework, Facilitates requirements reuse, Improves project team productivity
Review 20 for Rational DOORS
Overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for price: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Scalability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Atilla
Location:El Segundo, CA
Company size:10,001 or more
Role:Analyst

I LOVE DOORS

Date:June 5, 2012
I still think DOORS is the industry leader in managing requirements. Its flexibility with the DXL language is one of its greatest assets. i.e. if the functionality is not already there, it can be added with ease.
Pros: Manage project complexity, Address compliance with regulations and standards, Reduces rework, Aligns project deliverables to requirements and business goals, Provides faster and easier stakeholder consensus, Facilitates requirements reuse, Improves project team productivity, Enhance collaboration across engineering discipline with all stakeholders
1 2 3 next>>